My Top 5 Doctors (Five for Friday 20141107)

Doctor Who is a British science fiction show that has been around for over 50 years.  Its longevity comes from a clever plot device which allows them to change out the main character after a few years.  This process of regeneration or renewal allows different actors to play the Doctor.  And with each new actor, a new character is born, with different personalities and appearances.

Here are my top 5 favorite the Doctors for Five for Friday.

5 – The Second Doctor played by Patrick Troughton – Mr. Troughton played the Second Doctor from 1966 – 1969.  His character was playful and childlike.  These traits may have been the reason why he got the nickname the “Cosmic Hobo”.  I often get Mr. Troughton on those online match games to see which Doctor you are most like.  I guess that makes me a hobo too, huh?

4 – The Twelfth Doctor played by Peter Capaldi – He is the current the Doctor, who started his run on Christmas of 2013.  The Twelfth Doctor seems to be more of an outsider than his previous incarnations.  Like most other versions though, Mr. Capaldi draws on the previous incarnations portrayals.  His particular influences are cited as Peter Davison, Jon Pertwee, and William Harnell.  Despite his brashness at times, this version is starting to grow on me.

3 – The Eleventh Doctor played by Matt Smith – The Eleventh Doctor was very active and youthful one, often using his arms to talk a lot.  He started his run in 2010 and went to 2013.  Mr. Smith was also the youngest actor to play the Doctor at the time.  This incarnation stood out to me, because of his stories and his companions.   That said, Matt Smith played the character wonderfully and brilliantly.

2 – The Tenth Doctor played by David Tennant – David Tennant played the Tenth Doctor from 2005 to 2010.  For many, Mr. Tennant is their favorite doctor and for good reason.   The Tenth Doctor was funny, full of energy, and yet vulnerable.  He was very fond of Earthlings and therefore was likable.  He was  always childlike curious about things.  I suppose he had many similar traits to the Fourth Doctor in this regards, which is why I like him so much.

1 – The Fourth Doctor played by Tom Baker –  The Fourth doctor started the year I was born and played until 1981.  This version of him was unpredictable humorous and charming.  He is probably best known for his long multicolored scarf, which he used in all sorts of ways.  I remember having a scarf like that for a while.  Tom Baker’s doctor will always be my favorite, because that was my first.  More importantly, it was the one that my Dad and I used to watch together on PBS when I was old enough.  So the Fourth Doctor will always have a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

