Five for Friday (20141031)

.

As a kid, I loved trick-or-treating.  I remember walking around town, going to strangers and neighbors late at night, and getting candy for saying that magical phrase, “Trick or treat?”, My friends and I would occasionally run into one another as we wandered our magical, monstrous streets those Halloween nights.  It was a blast!

Honestly, I miss doing that.  Nowadays, I’ve replaced door-to-door hopping on Halloween with bar hopping.  And the costumes my friends wear now…well…let’s just say, they leave a lot more to the imagination than of those homemade costumes that Mom used to make.  Trick-or-treat indeed.

Despite all the changes to my past habits, I haven’t really lost my love of candy.  So it is fitting on this Halloween that my very first “Five for Friday” be something where I can present my top five favorite candies.

So if you happen see that very tall costumed kid tonight, be sure to give him one of these choices…or call the cops…’cause that’s still kinda creepy.

5. Reese’s Pieces – I’ve loved Reese’s Pieces ever since the movie E.T. came out, and they remain a staple candy, whether I’m at the movies or at work. It’s the perfect alternative to the sweetness of M&Ms.

4. Kit Kat – Created by Rowntree’s of York, England, these wafer candies covered in chocolate gives a wonderful balance of sweet and salty.

3. Twizzlers – Not just a licorice candy, but a great weapon in mock battles with candy swords and whips. “My name is Inigo Montoya…”

2. Tootsie Rolls – the World looks mighty good to me, ’cause Tootsie Rolls are all I see. We used to get tons of these candies for Halloween (along with Smarties). I have to say, I think it’s the texture that keeps me loving these candies.

1, PEZ – I love Pez. Not so much for the micro candies themselves, but for the dispensers of course.  These Austrian delights are iconic and will always be one of my favorite candies of all time.  Unfortunately, in all my time trick-or-treating, I’ve never gotten a Pez dispenser for Halloween.  I got them mostly for Easter though. And that said, a friend of mine did give me one this year in a “Halloween basket”.  I guess they are just too expensive for mass handouts.  So maybe PEZ should look into small quick and cheap dispensers for kids like me.

Leave a Reply

